What makes an Artist an Artist?

What makes an Artist an Artist? I have thought about that over the years and have asked many people that same question. Most of the time the explanation starts off simple but after a few minutes of thought it becomes an endless array of factors that point in every direction.  I once thought that only the works that hung in the most exclusive art museums were true art, the Mona Lisa, The Scream, and Melting Clocks etc…  I thought that Artists needs to accomplish these goals, in order to ever call yourself an Artist. I thought you had to wear special jackets and hats like I had seen so many of the students of upper-class art schools adorn. I thought you had to carry around a portfolio and an espresso and be somewhat smug. I started to question this ART STUFF after many years of drawing and doing artistic related activities I was told by a teacher that I was indeed an Artist. Me? an Artist?that’s impossible. I never met any of the criteria that I just explained nor did I think I could be, or would be an Artist. I know now that being an Artist is a way of “thinking” not what you do or what you look like.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What makes an Artist an Artist?

  1. jacquoi1 says:

    I agree that the whole “artist” concept is very subjective, just as the idea of what art is in general is incredibly subjective. And that the term Artist conjures up different images and thoughts for different people. When I think of Artist I don’t automatically think special jackets, expresso and smugness, although those traits can be applied to many of the artists I’ve met over the years. So I can see where you’re coming from. That all being said, after having seen your work, both for class projects and for fun, I have to say I’m surprised you had trouble thinking of yourself as an artist. Very surprised. I always assumed artists intrinsically knew they were artists. Looks like I learned something new today. Thanks!

    Oh and in regard to the confidence vs. cocky issue. In my experience I’ve found cocky people to be overcompensating for some sort of insecurity. Whereas confident people believe in themselves and aren’t affected by what people think of them. I don’t know if that’ll help but thought I’d weight in on it too.

  2. Han Na says:

    I agree that being an artist is a way of thinking, as oppose to what you do or how you look. Really, not all artists like espresso… some of them don’t wear hats, and not all artists are smug.
    Maybe look at it this way: Some trees have leaves, some trees have flowers, some trees have berries. BUT if a tree did not have any leaves, or flowers, or berries, could it still be a tree? The answer is YES! Maybe it’s a pine tree… No leaves, flowers or berries, just pine needles. But it is still a tree.
    Just because one doesn’t wear a smock, drink espresso or hang their work in the most upstanding museum, does not make them any less of an artist when compared to an artist that DOES do all those things.

Leave a comment